Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts

When I was a little girl I was not a girl scout. I was a cheerleader from 4th grade through high school (except my freshman year of high school when I devastatingly didn’t make the squad… don’t worry, I made captain the next year… a fact that Ross looooooves to tell people who don’t see me as the “go team” type). But I definitely was not a girl scout.

Something about the comradery of a bunch of girls sitting around sewing and cooking and taking snacks to old people didn’t excite me. Although looking back now, girl scouts are pretty much the prerequisite to every professional blogger and etsy-store-owner’s career, so I definitely missed my opportunity there.  I remember casually mentioning to my mom that I wanted to be a boy scout (just like my brother, duh) but she threw the hammer down on that one.  I may not have been the little frilly girl she always wanted, refusing to wear bows in my hair and preferring trucks to baby dolls, but she was not going to have her little girl roughing it with the boys. No sir. So, family camping trips and wresting with my brother was the closest I ever got to the coveted boy scout vest (which by the way, I am pretty sure Ross has one somewhere which I definitely want to find. And wear.)

Anyway, despite not being a girl scout, there was one part of girl scouts that I always participated in. The cookies. I mean seriously, who doesn’t love a good cookie?  My two favorites were always Thin Mints and Tagalongs (or as everyone I know calls them, Peanut Butter Patties).

So when I found a recipe to make these delicious delicacies at home, you had best believe I was on that like white on rice.

First, I took a stab at the Peanut Butter Patties. One of Ross’s coworkers brought a batch to work to share.  Knowing my love for both peanut butter and chocolate, you can bet your bottom dollar I made those suckers ASAP.

And as I like to give credit where credit is due, I used the recipe found here.  The only alteration I made to the recipe is that I did not add the powdered sugar to the peanut butter. I wanted to really taste the difference in the salty peanut butter and the sweet chocolate, so I skipped that step. I would suggest you do too (hey, if you leave out a little sugar, that means you can eat an extra cookie, right?)

For the thin mints, I did some research and found a recipe here. I was honestly a bit skeptical about the salty base for this cookie as well. Ritz were perfect for the peanut butter, adding a touch of extra salt and crunch, but I feared they would overpower the semi-sweet mint flavor of this recipe. Wrong I was. The Ritz crackers were the perfect base. And, by buying a big box of Ritz, you are opening yourself up to the possibility of a whole lot of Girl Scout cookie deliciousness in your kitchen.   In this recipe I left out the vegetable shortening. The only purpose was to keep the chocolate smooth, so I opted for slightly lumpy cookies. I don’t have shortening in my pantry (I guess that’s a sign I don’t cook a lot), and I didn’t want to buy an entire large container for 1 tablespoon.  And shortening adds a lot of fat. So back to my previous thought: less fat per cookie = eating extra cookies. Do you see where I am going with this?

And if you need a little bit of proof that I was a cheerleader (I understand it isn’t entirely believable), go to Monte De Rey in Wilkesboro, NC and look for the picture of the Wilkes Central High School cheerleading squad behind the check out register. I’ll be there.

Are you making any delicious cookies this season? 

5 thoughts on “Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts

  1. Katie, Your cheerleader photo has been moved to the back of Monte De Ray–it no longer
    hangs over the cash register. You will pass it on the way to the rest room!!!

Leave a Reply

